//
you're reading...
Technology

Deflating Your Retirement

My 13-year old daughter recently opened a can of Pringles, only to exclaim, “Rip Off!” I was pulling out of the parking lot of the service station where we’d just stopped to get gas. I glanced over as she obligingly tilted the can in my direction, revealing the shockingly small stack of chips inside. I momentarily found myself wondering if the can was an accidental short stack.

Your Retirement

My 13-year old daughter recently opened a can of Pringles, only to exclaim, “Rip Off!”  I was pulling out of the parking lot of the service station where we’d just stopped to get gas. I glanced over as she obligingly tilted the can in my direction, revealing the shockingly small stack of chips inside.  I momentarily found myself wondering if the can was an accidental short stack.

But only momentarily.  “That’s inflation sweetie,” I told her  “They put less in the potato chip can so they don’t have to raise prices as much,”   Bet the BLS doesn’t account for that when it’s working its hedonic voodoo, I thought to myself, as I exited the parking lot and pulled back onto the highway.

A couple of years ago I sat with a retired couple and listened while they described their current situation. They were both 64 years old and already on Social Security.  He had retired in his…

View original post 1,006 more words

About Nicholas Maithya

I am a writer focussing on disruptive technology, Fintech, Big Data and Internet of Things, Online Marketing trends, and investments. When I am not writing about these, I am probably in the gym working out, out and about with family, watching the news (basically business/technology) or soccer. That's why I do sometimes cover soccer-related stories.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 714 other followers

Tweets